Glenn I Latham Award

LathamThe Glenn I. Latham Award was created in 2001 in memory of Dr. Glenn I. Latham, who was the founder and Director of the Mountain Plains Regional Resource Center (MPRRC) at Utah State University. Dr. Glenn Latham worked at Utah State University between 1980 and 2001. Dr. Latham was respected and known internationally in the areas of behavior and parent involvement. Dr. Latham was highly respected for his dedication to improving services of children with disabilities. Dr. Latham passed away in 2001 while on a technical assistance trip to Australia. He leaves a legacy that continues today. His behavior and parent programs are still being used throughout the United States. The Center for Technical Assistance for Excellence in Special Education (TAESE) was established in 2004. The Glenn Latham Award is now an annual award from TAESE.

The Glenn I. Latham Award is the highest award given by TAESE. The award is given to a State Education Agency staff member or professional in Special Education who best characterizes the attributes of Dr. Latham—knowledge, wisdom, and a passion to improve programs and services for children and youth with disabilities.

The individual receiving the award must possess similar attributes and characteristics as Dr. Latham including:

• Contributes to improving results and services for children and youth with disabilities at the local, state and regional levels.
• Ongoing compassion and dedication in the area of special education.
• Promoting the importance of using behavior and academic research-based practices.
• Demonstrates leadership—leading with mind and heart.
• Willing to share their expertise with other professionals.
• Possessing similar characteristics and philosophy of special education as Dr. Latham.
• Keeping the main thing the main thing—children with disabilities.
Past Recipients
2002-2003 | Marilyn Pearson, Montana
2003-2004 | Deb Barnett, South Dakota
2004-2005 | Bob Runkel, Montana
2005-2006 | Bob Rutten, North Dakota
2006-2007 | JoAnne Phillips, Arizona
2007-2008 | Gary Sherman, Nebraska
2008-2009 | Peg Brown-Clark, Wyoming
2009-2010 | Ann Larsen, South Dakota
2010-2011 | Colleen Riley, Kansas & Tim Harris, Montana
2011-2012 | Mark Ward, Kansas & Susan Bailey Anderson, Montana
2012-2013 | Steve Kukic
2013-2014 | Beth Wierda, Nebraska & Fannie Adams, Alabama
2014-2015 | Angela Denning, Arizona

Center for Technical Assistance for Excellence in Special Education
1780 N Research Parkway, Suite 112 | Logan, UT 84341
Tel: 435-797-9009 | Fax: 435-797-9018 | Contact Us | Directions

TAESE is a division of the Center for Persons with Disabilities at Utah State University


Main Menu